Thomas Jefferson - TJ School News
Home > News > TJ School News

TJ School News

Thomas Jefferson Independent Day School has released its Middle and Upper School 2018-2019 spring semester honor rolls.  Students earning High Honors earned at least a 90 average and no more than one grade of B or lower; a student who averages over 90 percent during a semester and receives more than one B will earn honor roll status but not high honors.  Students on the Honor Roll earned an 80 to 89.9 average. No student may have more than one grade of C or lower to receive honors.

Upper School

High Honor Roll

Ian Ding
Jennalee Dunn
Drew Goodhope
Kyra Hayes
Abhijith Jenkins
Shrihari Nagarajan
Jiao Jiao Nelson
Elias Rincker 

Kayley Ball
Sonia Carlson
Owen D'Amour
Noah Hamlett
Killian Helms
Victoria Henson-Miyauchi
Edwinna Hiebert
Ally Jacobs
Johanna Jeyaraj
Juliana Joseph
Jane Min
Tri Nguyen
Sydney Stamps
Jesse Stone
Nicholas Turney
Evelyn Wilson

Ryan Beyersdorfer
Brock Conklin
Savannah Dillard
Dillon Dodge
Jade Eschenbrenner
Luke Goodhope
Colton Henkle
Thomas Hershewe
Preston Johnson
Layla Mokhtar
Jaden Moore
Audrey Neighmond
Humza Rehman
Bella Scutti
Acelynn Tate
Reagan Thompson

Lexxy Ahn
Bailey Bennett
Olivia Renfro
Shannon Tewari
Christopher Underwood
Aaron Wells
Lane Wilson

Honor Roll

Alivia Beard
Liam Chevillard
Emma Patterson
Luke Ralston  

Kelsey Atteberry
Matthew Dohmen
Desi Hix
Alice MacDonald
Laynie Solum
Olivia Staso
Christopher Wheelen
Parker Woods
Anastasia Young

Simran Anis
Hallie Corle
Nathan Eschenbrenner
Madeline Goodman
Quincy Graves
Gabriella Laird
Caroline Martucci
Ruchi Patel
Elizabeth Patterson
Clara Scales
Morgan Soetaert

Isaac Dickinson
Cyra Evans
Richard Joseph III
Luke Kirk
Matthew Palmer
Yang Qiu
Adam Turney

Middle School

High Honor Roll

6th Grade
Sheraz Anis
Natalie Carroll
Teo Chevillard
Thomas Harrold
Jeanna Jeyaraj
Presley Long
Warda Morsy
Antonio Saad
Mayson Solum
Leah Studer
Maggie Sutton
Carmen Valle
Jordan Vann
Aishwarya Viswanathan
Emily Zhang

Allison Ding
Adeline Dunn
Alaina Edmondson
Gabriella Hiebert
Avery Hocker
Alissa Kean
Bilal Mir
Devan Murali
Prithvi Nagarajan
Mary Nguyen
Chengle Qian
Nayab Rehman
Emalee Ro
Alexis Stamps
Jack Tyrrell
Zoe Zimmer 

Shayaan Anis
Jay Ball
Kaitlyn Beyersdorfer
Tyler Brouhard
Nico Carlson
Benjamin Carroll
Eve Cartwright
Nathaniel Curtis
Evan D'Amour
Ryken Garren
Alizeh Hammad
Sania Hammad
Jessica Joseph
Eva Locher
Yasmina Mokhtar
Mary Parker
Samantha Seto
Sophia Sweeny
Joshua Wynne-Hudson
Richard Zhang
Alexa Zimmer   

Honor Roll

Gavin Box
Rhiannon Cook
Eann Espinoza
Jack Goodhue
Joseph Graham III
Lannah Grigg
Madelyn Kennedy
Kiera Onyango
Ethan Renger
Jace Sample
Macie Shifferd
Kendra Spencer
Jenna Trimble 

Vigo Aguilar
Natalie Clarke
Hannah Davis
Lauren Laird
Jaxon Miller
Sarah Muelle

Kip Atteberry
Bria Brattin
Cain Butcher
Tannah Grigg
Joseph Ipsen
Andrew Renner
Alisabeth Rogers
Grayson Scutti
Tony Touma
David Triplett

[ TOP ]

Congratulations to Seniors Aaron Wells and Lane Wilson for earning distinction as National Merit Scholarship Program FINALISTS.   Lane and Aaron represent half of the students in the entire Four-States area who were selected (total of four National Merit Semifinalists – two from TJ, one from another Joplin private school, and one from Pittsburg (Kan.) High School).  The National Merit Scholarship Corporation made the announcement Feb. 11, and named the finalists who scored in the Top 1% in the nation on the PSAT.  More than 1.6 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the Preliminary SAT (PSAT) last school year. The nationwide pool of finalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for scholarships, and high school students enter the by taking the PSAT -- a test which serves as an initial screen of entrants each year -- and by meeting published program entry/participation academic requirements. Aaron and Lane join an elite group of people recognized by the National Merit Scholarship Program including Chief Justice of the United States John Roberts, Bill Gates, Jeff Bezos, Ben Bernanke, and Joseph Stiglitz.
[ TOP ]

Congratulations to the 18 TJ 7th graders who qualified for the highly-selective Duke Talent Identification Program (TIP) 7th Grade Talent Search based on their standardized test scores as 6th graders.

These TJ students qualified for DukeTIP’s 37th  Annual 7th Grade Talent Search:   Avery Hocker, Jack Tyrell, Alexis Stamps, Felicia Valle, Alissa Kean, Sarah Mueller, Lainey Edmondson, Bilal Mir, Allison Ding, Emalee Ro, Adeline Dunn, Hannah Davis, Zoe Zimmer, Devan Murali, Prithvi Nagarajan, Jaxon Miller, Karma Miller, and Chengle Qian.

The 7th Grade Talent Search identifies academically talented 7th graders based on standardized test scores achieved while attending elementary or middle school (TJ students who scored at or above the 95th percentile on the CTP tests in 6th grade). Candidates have the opportunity to take the ACT or the SAT college entrance exam as 7th graders, which allows them greater insight into their academic abilities. These students also are invites to participate in unique enrichment programs, and they gain access to valuable resources for gifted students. On average, more than 50 percent of each 6th grade class has qualified for the DukeTIP 7th Grade Talent Search.
[ TOP ]

TJ School News

About the School | Admissions | News | Parents | TJ's Program | Athletics | Activities and Clubs | Alumni | Giving to TJ | Summer Discovery | TJ Portal | Libraries | TJ Concert Hall | Strategic Planning

© Copyright 1993-2019 Thomas Jefferson Independent Day School. All rights reserved. | 3401 E. Newman Road, Joplin, MO 64801 | (417) 781-5124 | Non-discrimination policy